New to Unraid Please Help :(

tier1kill

Hello all! I'm completely new to this all and wanted to build my own nas. I bought a relatively old hp proliant dl180, 3 sas drives from ebay and an LSI 9211-8i and flashed it to IT mode. Everything is plugged in and the drives show up if i go into the LSI Controller (ctrl - c). But, when i boot into Unraid it doesn't show me any of my drives :/. I also noticed that the all three of the drives flash green at a steady rate aswell as the lsi card, I don't know if that helps any? I'm running unraid 6.6.3 . I already tried searching this problem up here and on google and i can't seem to find a way to solve this .-. I also attached the tower diagnostics.

tower-diagnostics-20181026-1437.zip

Yea I dove into the diagnostics a bit and saw that line, I also found out that i could use sg3_utils to format the drive. I tried with a live Ubuntu usb and it didn't work out, i also don't know if i did it correctly. I am in the process of just trying out with centos since i found an article that uses that os. Hope this works :/

4 hours ago, tier1kill said:

I tried with a live Ubuntu usb and it didn't work out

Didn't work out because you couldn't get sg3_utils installed or because the format itself didn't work? If the latter it should be the same with any other OS, if the former you can use a FreeNAS boot flash drive, since it includes sg3_utils by default.

Also, if it's the command failing I remember an user on another forum having to add some flags to the command, he used this one successfully:

sg_format -v --format --fmtpinfo=0 --pfu=0 --size=512 --six /dev/sdX

If using FreeNAS or FreeBSD it would be:

sg_format -v --format --fmtpinfo=0 --pfu=0 --size=512 --six /dev/daX