Some hardware questions

Hi,

I'm very new to unRaid and am currently running a trial version on some old hardware (i7-950, 6GB 1066GHz RAM). I'm using multiple older drives that I had lying around.

I'm trying to understand the requirement for graphic cards. I have an old one borrowed from my beighbor (Radeon HD7950) that gives me monitor output. So far so good.

I eventually plan to put the server in a corner with only network and power and manage everything via the gui. Later I would like to have VM's, and this is the part that confuses me. I read about being able to pass-through hardware and graphic cards to a VM and the benefits of that. But what I don't understand is, do I have to do that?

My VM's would only be for test labs, I would have no requirement for dedicated graphic cards in a VM, just to be able to have a VM running and using VNC or RDP to connect to it.

I guess my question is, can I have a single graphics card and still run multiple VM's, possibly a monitor connected to the card as well? Or can I only have a graphics card to connect the monitor to and see the GUI, and then for VM's I would need another card? Can I use one for everything?

This one more out of curiosity and understanding: If you pass-through a graphics card to a VM, can you still attach a monitor to it and view the output of unRaid, or will that no longer be possible?