Jump to content
adminmat

Will this erase all my media? (Krusader)

10 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

So I'm using Krusader for the first time. Although everyone raves about this application it's quite confusing and the only videos tutorial (by Spaceinvaderone) is outdated. And something quite scary happened the first time using... I was moving a folder with a film from my Temp Media share to my Media share and I got a popup saying it will overwrite the destination!!  Wholly crap! Really? So by dragging a folder into my media folder it warns me that it will overwrite the destination of 5TB of media? When I clicked on Cancel Krusader then crashed and wouldn't open the GUI until I stop and start the container. 

 

Is this really the only GUI to move files around in unRAID without using SMB? Will this erase my Media folder? Why is it saying it will overwrite a folder that doesn't already exist on the share? 

 

 

warning.thumb.PNG.f01114cc0da74e8bf33a69614b1cb9a8.PNG

Edited by adminmat

Share this post


Link to post
19 minutes ago, adminmat said:

Is this really the only GUI to move files around in unRAID without using SMB?

I use Dolphin docker as well as the filezilla docker....

Share this post


Link to post
4 minutes ago, Dissones4U said:

I use Dolphin docker as well as the filezilla docker....

ok, I'll take a look at those. But any idea why it's giving an overwrite warning? I really don't want to overwrite anything. 

Share this post


Link to post
Just now, adminmat said:

any idea why it's giving an overwrite warning? I really don't want to overwrite anything

My guess is that it is a dummy warning. However, I'd setup a sandbox share for testing and confirm if I didn't know for sure, it should be easy enough to do.

Share this post


Link to post
30 minutes ago, adminmat said:

Why is it saying it will overwrite a folder that doesn't already exist on the share? 

actually, based on your picture the folder already exists on the share, look at the details of the source and destination...

Share this post


Link to post
4 minutes ago, Dissones4U said:

actually, based on your picture the folder already exists on the share, look at the details of the source and destination...

Right, that's how it looks. But it does this as I move the folder to the share for the first time. That's why it's confusing. The folder definitely is not on the share that I'm moving it to. 

Share this post


Link to post
8 minutes ago, adminmat said:

Right, that's how it looks. But it does this as I move the folder to the share for the first time. That's why it's confusing. The folder definitely is not on the share that I'm moving it to. 

I have to wonder why the destination says Saturday the 16th? Anyway if it were me I'd setup a test share to confirm, it should take less 2 minutes but someone else may have a better idea...

Share this post


Link to post

So I did the test you suggested. This behavior only happens when transferring the movie folder to my Media share. When I transfer the same folder to a Test Share it does not give the overwrite warning. So I can not test the effect of clicking on the "Write Into" button. So I risk overwriting my media library or I have to click cancel. When I click Cancel the file still transfers but it makes Krusader crash so after moving every file I have to restart the container. Not ideal. 

Edited by adminmat

Share this post


Link to post
10 minutes ago, adminmat said:

Not ideal

The dolphin docker works pretty well for me, it's still a little qwerky if you're used to a really clean windows type UI but it's definitely usable. If I remember correctly I ended up using the right click menu rather than drag and drop due to some odd behaviors, especially when the folder path was really long.

 

Also, not to be redundant but make sure the folder isn't actually there in the destination already by navigating to it without krusader

Edited by Dissones4U

Share this post


Link to post

So for whatever reason I stopped getting the warning. It should be noted that I would get a similar warning when copying folders with the Plex labeling structure to the unRAID cache over SMB. But the warning would pop up in windows saying something like "are you sure you want to do this, you will lose the file properties." Never understood what the meant but it didn't seem to harm anything. 

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.