Newbie Question: File transfers SLOW as hell with Google Nest (vs ASUS)

Newbie here, I'm a health care professional so all this computer stuff is really difficult.  My ignorance will become clear as you read further so please be gentle LOL !  Will appreciate all the help.

My system:

• UNraid 6.8.3
  • Motherboard: ASRock - H170M-ITX/ac 
  • RAM: 8GB
  • Processor: Intel Core i5-6400 CPU @2.7GHz
  • Drives:  6TB + 4TB NAS drives.  One 120 GB SSD to host "appdata" and "system" files.  Have not set up cache for copying.  Have a 6TB drive not used and not in the array (yet) - debating on whether to set up parity or just use the disk
  • Parity:  No parity (for now - have a 6TB drive on standby)
  • NIC: 2 NICs each 1GB.  Using only one 

I recently migrated from FreeNAS to UNraid successfully.  What a breath of fresh air - interface so much more user friendly and ease of installing plugins etc etc. FreeNAS was slow as shit and the discussion boards were not helpful at all.  Shout out to several Youtubers including Spaceinvader and Illuminated Nerd - amazing videos 

The primary use of the server for me is 

1. Using PLEX like everyone else
  2. Downloading health care and medical related videos from various medical websites and storing them on the server which means downloading on my Dell XPS 13 laptop then transferring over WiFi to the server.

Here are the "growing pains" I'm facing and would love some help/opinions

1. I had initially connected the server to an ASUS RT-AC88U router and using the 5G wireless was getting close to 25 MBps (around 200-250 Mbps) transfer speed.  As the home WiFi was spotty with no WiFI in at least one room (and an urgent need to have Wifi there) I invested in the Google Nest WiFi and suddenly network transfer speeds slowed to a CRAWL.  I'm talking 1 MBps type of speeds, which is appalling.  Even when sitting right next to the router.  Doesn't matter if I swap the Ethernet cable to one NIC vs the other.