Cron script to reboot the server and parity checks. (Reason for cron script is crashes)

Hey all,

Buckle up because this is going to be a long one....

TL;DR: If i have a cron script to reboot the server on a weekly basis, what happens if a parity check is running at the time the script should start?

The reason for the TL;DR is for this reddit post i made earlier today, I had some decent feedback on what to look for for the crashing but haven't gotten an answer on the cron sript yet. So i figured now might be a good time to really dive in and see if anyone has any ideas for the crashing or if i should just keep doing what i have been doing.

I have been using for about 2 years and some where along the lines i did something or something happened to where the server will randomly lock up. I have tried everything that i know of to try and troubleshoot it other than completely starting from scratch. The hours that i have put into all the docker containers, plug ins, and overall customization to make everything work just isn't worth redoing...

At one point i thought that there could be an issue with one of my VMs running that was causing it to crash, so i stopped leaving my VMs running unless i needed them (Which is fine with me). This didn't seem to help other than lower my electricity usage slightly.

I have scoured my log files before and after each of the crashes and nothing seems to stick out, and i cant seem to find any correlation to when, where, or why this is happening.

What i DO know:

• Crashes happen about every 4-6 weeks, Different times of the day, different days
  • Stopping my VMs doesn't resolve this
  • C-States are disabled in bios and config/go
  • This has happened with two different mobo/cpu combinations (First one was a R7-1700x on a A320 chipset)
  • Using what i can see with TIG stack, it doesn't seem that there is an obvious change in resources or activity before the crash

What i DON'T know: