Large performance gap with EARS on 4.7

I'm a noob, so please forgive me if this is common knowledge.

I'm seeing some serious performance issues with the WD20EARS.

Current set up:

4.7 Pro

2x Hitachi HDS5C302 (1 data, 1 parity)

2x SAMSUNG_HD204U253 (both data)

1x WDC_WD20EARS (data)

The Hitachis and Samsungs (F4's with updated firmware) both have about 40MB/s write and 60 MB/s reads after testing over two weeks and 4 TB of data transfer.

I recently added the WD EARS and it is writing at ~ 19-25 MB/s after about 500 GB of testing. It also has occasional momentary pauses (using robocopy from Win7).

I do not have the jumper attached (and never have) to the WD. This was a clean install of 4.7 pro.

Is this normal?

I have attached my syslog from the start of the clear. Looks OK to me.

WDsyslog.txt

Are they all plugged into the same controller? Copying the same data?

That is very slow for the EARS. I have about 8 in mine and get around 40-50 MBs on average. My only complaint with them is they run a littler warmer than the hitachi or samsungs and their failure rate seems to be higher.

Thanks for the quick response.

Are they all plugged into the same controller?

Yes, they are all plugged into the same (onboard) AMD SB710 controller. It is plugged into slot 5 of 6 (second slot of second bank).

Copying the same data?

Yes, it's the same type of data. I'm migrating my movie rips (mostly MKV's) off of my Win7 box to an unRaid box. This HDD had been working in my Win7 box for several months without issues.

My only complaint with them is they run a littler warmer than the hitachi or samsungs and their failure rate seems to be higher.

Slower, hotter, and less reliable...what's not to like?

As I write this, the avg write speed has dropped to ~16 MB/s.  :'(

But the syslog doesn't look OK.

This line is causing slower speeds

May  2 19:12:41 Tower emhttp: writing mbr on disk 4 (/dev/sde) with partition 1 offset 63 (Drive related)