AFP Files Locked

Nezil

I'm relatively new to unRAID, very new actually, this being my second post. For the last few years I've been almost entirely a Mac user, and whilst I don't want to start a war here, I've been very happy since the switch!

With my new unRAID system (details here: http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=13575.0), I ran into a problem with AFP that I thought I'd bring up here.

As part of the migration from old storage to unRAID, I was copying a large amount of data onto the array. This was taking some time, not because of any issue, just due to the amount I was trying to copy over. I was using AFP for this by the way, though I could have used SMB. There is a distinct difference in behaviour between each of the protocols that I noticed, and AFP's approach caused a problem, that was kind of a pain to fix...

AFP

When copying multiple files and folders with AFP in finder, the destination disk will show the files and folders that you're moving / copying, but slightly greyed out until they've actually moved over. If you look at the destination disk from any other computer, those files and folders will also be greyed out, indicating that they're coming, but not there yet. Greyed out folders cannot be entered, presumably because it is felt that their contents will change.

SMB

When copying multiple files or folders with SMB in finder, the destination disk will show the files and folders that you're moving, initially at 0b size, almost as place holders. If you look at the destination disk form any other computer, you can browse and look at the files, just they will be no size.

The Issue