Automounting Shares in Mac OS X

I started writing this post as a reply to a question about iSCSI, but it occurred to me that it might be useful to a more general audience. Moderators, feel free to move this if I've posted in the wrong section.

An easy way to make your unRAID shares appear local on a Mac, and automatically mount - Use the Automount system.

I'm relatively new to unRAID myself, and have been playing with this approach for several reasons. I'm primarily a Mac user, and don't have a lot of interest in using Windows; and the AFP support in the latest 5.0b versions is a pleasant improvement.

For automount to work, there are just a few files to edit, all located in /etc on your Mac.

The file /etc/auto_master lists all of the drives mounted in the automount system for your computer. By default it should look like this:

+auto_master            # Use directory service
/net                    -hosts          -nobrowse,hidefromfinder,nosuid
/home                   auto_home       -nobrowse,hidefromfinder
/Network/Servers        -fstab
/-                      -static

There are actually two approaches to having shared resources automatically mount in the finder:

The first is to use the deprecated, and no longer officially supported (though it does work well for Snow Leopard, so I've read) fstab system that will likely be familiar to Linux users. Shares here will always appear in /Network/Servers on your Mac (regardless of where you defined the mount point in fstab), so won't actually fulfil your intention of having them appear as local disks. I'll not be discussing this here, as I don't have a lot of experience with this.

The second option is to use standard automount system to define mount points and their shares. You could define these in the auto_master file, but the typical, and cleaner way to do it, is to point auto_master to a new file where you'll add your definitions. My auto_master file looks like this.