Tried replacing CACHE Drive, now nothing is there

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

Hi 

I followed this post on how to replace the CACHE Pool Drive with a new one.

I am able to plug in both the old and the new. So what i did was i stopped the Array, selected the new drive (So that the new one appears in "Cache" and the old one goes to "unassigned". Then i started the Array. 

However, nothing happened except all my docker and stuff was gone. 

Then i thought maybe setting things as they were helps, but no. Now it says that the disk has nothing on it (the old and the new one). 

What did i do wrong? How do i get my Data back? 

Im still learning UNRAID, so any help is much appreciated. 

Best Regards

1 hour ago, JorgeB said:

Do you mean you followed the part for a directly device replacement that has a line across it and mentions it does no longer works

Wait noo, that is exactly what i did. Welp. Nothing i can do i guess? 

I somehow thought "-You can't directly replace an existing device with a smaller one, only one of the same or larger size, you can add one or more smaller devices to a pool and after it's done balancing stop the array and remove the larger device(s) (one at a time if more than one), obviously only possible if data still fits on the resulting smaller pool." applies to replacements as well..

50 minutes ago, NAStyKappeli said:

you can add one or more smaller devices to a pool and after it's done balancing stop the array and remove the larger device(s) (one at a time if more than one), obviously only possible if data still fits on the resulting smaller pool." applies to replacements as well..

This works but it's not a direct replacement, first add one device and only after that's done can you remove the old one.

There's a good change your old cache is still recoverable if nothing else was done, please post the diagnostics.

It is, the new one is this one: image.thumb.png.acf286a99c93433205a93e1b1469aa66.png