Best way to setup shares on unRaid to reduce Spin-up time?

Hello,

unRaid Noob here, need an opinion from someone with experience.

Say you have 10 HDD array, and you have shares created with default settings, meaning in the bottom options to Included Disk set to all, excluded disk set to none.

You also have HDD Spin-Down mode enabled for 1h.

You have Movies, TV Series, Game shares and they all mapped as network drives on windows PC.

Whats going to happen if say you decide to open the Movies share?

Will it spin-up ALL the hard drives in your array while you browse the share?

Because I assumed its going to spin up every HDD, I decided to manually configure shares and drives, like i give Movies share just this HDD and the TV series just 2 otehr HDD and the games just that HDD and the HDDs that i dont need right now permanently in spin down mode and nothing wakes them up

But i assume its not the correct way to manage unraid?

Whats the proper way that can both have unsused HDDs asleep and i wont have to manage space on hard drives?

Thanks

Edited by Hexenhammer
  • Hexenhammer changed the title to Best way to setup shares on unRaid to reduce Spin-up time?

What is your objective in this exercise?

I did a bit of playing with my servers. Let begin with some observations that I made.

1. Unraid only spins up a disk when it needs to read information from the disk.  It does (appear) to use a caching system to store information from previous disk reads-- particularly directory information.  So leave your server on 24-7.

2. You can actually see where which disks have information stored on your server for each share.  You can get to it on the Shares tab by clicking where shown below:
    image.thumb.png.a3320a573a164e7de70530854e3f97e6.png
    That will give you this:
    image.thumb.png.f95bdf88ec3988249c0dac2282e01652.png