LAST CALL on the Unraid Summer Sale! 😎 ⌛ ×

Backup/Archive Solution Help

Deathmoney

Hello,

Firstly I want to say I am new to Unraid, and the whole server space, and every thing that goes with it, so thank you for help and patience.

I have read many forum posts, documentations, and cant seem to find the solution.

I am trying to build a "backup" solution, which is actually more so an archive solution that behaves like a backup solution.

I have tried Duplicati, Urbackup, Nextcloud, Windows file history, and nothing seems to work for my use case.

Use Case:

I have 3 Windows laptops (win 10/11) used by 3 users about 1 TB each, as well as 3 android phones, that I want all to be backed up to my unraid box.

The files and folders selected should all be sent from the source (windows laptops) to the destination (unraid box). Files should be monitored for any changes, as in editing or adding new files to the folder. Allow versions to go back in edits. There should be some sort of deduplication to prevent duplicate files. And, what seems to be the biggest issue, if a file is deleted from the source, it should NOT be deleted from the unraid location. I want to maintain all files ever sent to unraid unless I go in manually to delete it.