Disk showing 2x size, then after update disks are unmountable

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

For starters this is my first time using UNRAID and I am not very familiar with the user interface or setup process. The setup I have is a testbench that I am experimenting with before migrating all of my data/apps over. Thus far I have had two issue (likely errors on my part) the first is incorrect disk availability and the second is all disks being unmountable.

When setting up the system I installed 4x 18TB HDDs, 2x 4TB HDDs, and one 512GB NVMe drive. I set two of the 18TB disks for parity, the NVMe as a cache pool and the rest in the array. When I started the array the 2 18TB disks in the array (Disk 1 and Disk 2) were showing 36TB available and the 4TB disks (Disk 3 and Disk 4) were showing 4TB available. The total array had 80TB available. This did not seem correct to me, so I uploaded some random data to see what would happen. I set up a smb share and uploaded ~500GB of stuff. It all went into the cache pool as expected. I started the mover to see what the 18TB disks would do, and all of the data started appearing on both Disk 1 and Disk 2 with nothing on Disk 3 and Disk 4. Disk 1 and Disk 2 now reported ~35.5TB available, and browsing the disks showed all files were on both. Why is UNRAID behaving like this and would there be an issue if I uploaded more than 18TBs?

I downloaded the log files (only getting some of the syslog files, sorry) before rebooting and the problem persisted. I then checked to ensure I was on the latest version and saw I was on 6.11.5, and that 6.12.0-rc8 was available. I updated to 6.12.0-rc8 to see if this would resolve my issue. Upon rebooting and starting the array all disks are now showing as "Unmountable: Unsupported or no file system". I downloaded the log files again (getting the entire syslog this time). Do I need to format the disks after updating? Should I just revert back to version 6.11.5?

Any/all help appreciated.

-J