First timer trying to make low power Plex build

Hi all,

I'm just getting into all of this stuff, after running Plex on a Pi with 1tb external storage for a while.

As you might imagine, I'm starting to want an upgrade.

I still don't need it to do very much. One or two 720p or 1080p streams, limited transcoding. No 4k.

I keep seeing these builds where people are getting idle power usage of like 15-20w, but of course since they're a few years old, all the links are dead, or the parts aren't sold anymore, etc.

Then I started eyeballing the HP S01, which you can snag off ebay for like $150-$200. But I don't think you can cram much storage in there, and I don't think I want to go the eSATA route.

So then I started wondering if I should build my own. Unfortunately that looks like it's putting me more in the $500 range, for basically "exactly the HP S01 but with a bigger case," which is stupid that it costs like double for that. But anyway.

My main question is:

With these specs, is it possible to get idle power usage down to 15-20w? Is there some trick to getting that low usage? Special parts required?

• a new-ish intel i3
  • motherboard with 4x to 6x SATA ports
  • 300w power supply (higher? lower?)
  • 8gb ram (should this be 16?)

Seconday question:

Is it possible to get a prebuilt small form factor (like the HP S01) and still have enough drives on it for unraid to be useful?

I've done several days worth of reading and searching, so if i missed stuff, it wasn't for lack of trying. Thanks!

17 hours ago, theothermatt_b said:

Then I started eyeballing the HP S01, which you can snag off ebay for like $150-$200. But I don't think you can cram much storage in there,

Is it possible to get a prebuilt small form factor (like the HP S01) and still have enough drives on it for unraid to be useful?

Welcome!

The S01 is designed for 1 x 2.5" and 1 x 3.5" HDDs, so is not really useful for a NAS with any redundancy.