Using unraid in a mission critical setting

Hello,

I am an IT admin for a network of 14 Hospitals.  We are interested in using Unraid for a backup solution, system wide.  I have a few questions I was hoping you fine folks could help me answer.

1. Does Unraid support NIC "Teaming?"  I may have 7 facilities backing up to unraid at once.

2.  How easy is it to mirror one Unraid to another for redundancy?

3.  Does unraid support Email notification of failed drives?

4.  I plan to use Server hardware with this build, Will my motherboard matter much if I am planning to use 3x supermicro 8 lane Sas controllers that I know are compatibile?

5.  Will unraid ever support more than 21 drives?

I understand that some of these issues are touched on in the forums, but some of the answers are quite old.  I was hoping to get new up-to-date info. Thanks

I'll answer what I can.

1. Does Unraid support NIC "Teaming?"  I may have 7 facilities backing up to unraid at once.

I believe there may be some beta support for bonding two nics, But it just came out and I do not know the status of it.

The biggest bottleneck will be the parity drive, unless you use a cache drive.

unRAID is NOT known for it's write speed. Expect write speed of 20-40MB/s to the parity protected array.

Probably faster to the cache drive (up to 60 has been reported). But once you start adding multiple streams, all the head movement is going to diminish the speed by a certain percentage.

Using an advanced caching areca controller for the parity may help a little, but only by a small amount.

2.  How easy is it to mirror one Unraid to another for redundancy?

It's easy to use rsync for copying disk1 to disk1 on another server.

3.  Does unraid support Email notification of failed drives?

Not out of the box. There are third party plugin tools to do this.

Eventually I plan to get nagios running on unRAID.

5.  Will unraid ever support more than 21 drives?