Cannot access //tower, must use IP

Loosley

I can't access my unRAID 5.0beta13 server config menu using //tower, from Windows 7 x64 Internet Explorer.  It works with the IP address (//192.168.0.100) though.

I read through various forum posts on this topic, but I wasn't able to find a workable solution.  My network config is as follows:

unRAID server and two Windows 7 PCs <-> gigabit switch <-> 10/100 router <-> Internet (cable modem)

I checked out my router config and I didn't see anything related to DNS that would prevent this, but I'm no networking expert.  Would appreciate any suggestions you might have...

I can't connect with \\tower or //tower but tower on it's own works fine, but then i'm using ubuntu 11.4, unraid 4.7

I also needed to update my hosts file.

Anyone know why this is happening?

it's not a big problem, but it would be nice to be able to open the shares with \\tower.

it sounds like a netbios issue..

did you change your server name?

if so, use that name.....

did you recently change the servers IP?

is so, clear your windows cache.

try from a cmd line in windows "ping -a ip_address_of_server" see what it spits out for a hostname.

on your unraid box. in the SMB settings, set it to master browser (local master). see if that helps.

when in doubt, reboot everything.. windows admin trick.. not really serious.(lol)

I tried chaning the server name but that didn't seem to do the trick.  I also rebooted the PC a few times, and tried accessing it from a different PC, but no luck.  My router config page shows the hostname as "Tower", and I can access the drive shares using \\Tower, but I still can't get //Tower to load the unRAID config page.

I'll try replacing the router with another one I have lying around to see if that does the trick.

Configure the router for a permanent IP address reservation. Setting static IP addresses on end hosts is a configuration management nightmare.