First UnRaid Build (~12-15 HDDs, not budget nor beast, needs to be cool)

AndrewT

I’ve built several desktops but never a server before. I’m excited to setup unraid, as it is something I’ve been hoping to come across for several years now to free up my personal desktop. I’ve looked into many recommended builds in the 10-15 HDD range, but most are generally geared towards ‘budget’ single-core builds that are not particularly concerned with cooling. A major concern I have is that the server will be in a room that is 76-80°F, so cooling is a major issue. Let’s avoid discussion on dropping the temperature; it’s just not feasible anytime in the next couple of years.

**  = are areas that I’d really appreciate suggestions on, although I welcome all comments

Budget: <$700; I have $600 in Amazon gift cards I’d strongly prefer to use. I’m not looking for a ‘budget build’ that barely gets by with my needs, nor am I looking for a ‘beast’ performance build. I’m trying to create a strong build and avoid dealing with hardware-software compatibility issues, so an extra $50 for that is fine (but $100 extra is pushing it).

I will be using this unraid server for two purposes:

(1) accept Crashplan backups from 2 laptops (one mac, one PC) and 2 desktops (one mac, one PC). At most 1 will be backed up at a time, but I run Crashplan almost daily on my laptop (over wifi) so it will be used quite a bit.

(2) be a standalone setup to download, unpackage, rename, scrape, and organize media downloads for my 1 XBMC device to connect to

I have an AppleTV 1st Gen (no hardware mods) with XBMC that struggles to encode 720p over wifi, so if it’s possible I’d like the encoding to be done on the server.

Add-Ons:

• UnMENU

• Crashplan

• SABnzbd+, Couchpotato, Headphones, Sickbeard

• Transmission

• unrar

• unraid_notify