LSI Logic MegaRAID I4 4CH ATA/100 RAID Controller?

heffe2001

I have a system I'm trying to set up (a mix of SATA & IDE drives, right now, 3 IDE, and 2 SATA).  I'm trying to use a LSI Logic MegaRAID i4 Raid controller, and the system sees it fine, but 4.3.3 apparently doesn't.  What I'm trying to do is basically create single 'stripes' with the raid controller, each drive on a seperate controller on the MegaRAID board, and add the Sata's on as well (I purchased the Plus license, so I'm covered there).

What I'm guessing is that the UnRaid kernel doesn't have support for this LSI board, so I'm wondering how hard it'd be to compile support in?  (I'm not a linux newbie, but I am a unraid newbie, guess I need to hit the wiki and see how to compile a UR kernel :) ).

It's not that hard to compile a kernel and add the driver. (if supported well by the manufacturer).

The tricky part becomes extracting the initrootfs image, updating it, repacking it and sending it back to the flash drive.

I know there's a a good tutorial on the forum somewhere about recompiling the kernel.  Do a few searches and check the Wiki.

I need to try it when I get home, but apparently it might just be the firmware on the card making it not see it.  It's got the Dell CERC firmware (shows up as a dell card), at least on other linux distros, you need to load the LSI firmware on the card, and then it shows up fine (I'm guessing I'll still need to compile the kernel to add the megaraid drivers on the system).  At least loading the firmware from LSI will make it detectable by the kernel included with 4.3.3 (once the right modules are loaded).  Otherwise you need to make several source-code edits to get it working..