File sharing

TedatTNT

I'm looking for a simple method to accomplish some basic file sharing and as of yet I'm a little stuck.  I'm somewhat new to unRAID and I am running 5.0 beta 7 (should probably upgrade to rc 8 soon).

1st and most importantly - I want to host some files and have them be accessible from the web - an external site will call some image files (for example) by a URL that points to my router and then to my unraid server, which will, in turn, serve them up.

2nd, and less important, I'll like to be able to provide someone outside my network a login/password so that can upload a file to my unraid server.  However, I'd prefer to NOT use FTP and I'm unaware of alternatives.

Thanks,

Ted

Unraid is not designed to be accessed from the internet in general, it's meant to be used as a local network storage device, or NAS. If you open ports to the internet, you will likely be hacked. If you don't understand what is involved, or the risks, you would be better off looking at a different operating system as your base, one that is designed to be exposed to the internet.

Ahhh, this is disappointing.  I was under the impression that since it runs on Linux Slackware, I could make it do about anything - even securely.

You can. But the stock configuration is as far from secure as can be, and if you are asking questions about how to make it secure, chances are you are going to miss something. You need to pretty much already know the right questions to ask and the risks involved to make the changes necessary. There have been major changes made to the slackware base that make it much less secure so unraid is easier to use in a home network. The management interface for unraid was never meant to be exposed to the internet.