Reallocation script

stomp

Hi!

I have currently drives that are filled over 90% and drives filled under 50%. How can I automatically reallocate files in order to level the filling per drives? Is there a script to do this? I know I can do it manually but this is pretty boring.

unRAID's allocation works fine and always fills the least filled drive. I have an historical imbalance because some drives where filled too much before adding a new drive.

Now, does this question make sense? I heard that drives filled above 90% might slow down the system. Any thoughts?

Thanks a lot for your inputs guys!

stomp

There's no reason to move any of your data.    WRITING to very full drives can slow down the system a bit, but reading from them doesn't cause any issues (other than the normal inner cylinders are slower than outer cylinders issue -- but that's always going to be true).

If you have your allocation method set so UnRAID is filling the other drives, it will never try to write anything to your 90% full drive unless/until all of the drives are filled to this level.

Bottom line:  Just leave your data where it is  8)

Ok thanks.

I did experience serious issues when my system was like 95% filled overall: I had to try to transfer several times the same file in order to complete the transfer. This resulted in dupes and corrupted files. Now that I installed a cache drive, I think this is no more an issue.

Thanks.

There's no reason to move any of your data.    WRITING to very full drives can slow down the system a bit, but reading from them doesn't cause any issues (other than the normal inner cylinders are slower than outer cylinders issue -- but that's always going to be true).

If you have your allocation method set so UnRAID is filling the other drives, it will never try to write anything to your 90% full drive unless/until all of the drives are filled to this level.

Bottom line:  Just leave your data where it is  8)