Preclear not successfull [newbie]

Hello.

I ran a preclear the other day on six hard drives, some of the drives didn't successfully preclear.

I bought two new Seagate ST3000DM001 3TB drives, they precleared successfully! the other four drives; Samsung SpinPoint F4EG 2TB all failed the preclear.

the preclear command i used was;

./preclear_script.sh -A /dev/sdX.

I attached the Samsung preclear results and the Seagate results, I don't know what to look for so if more info is needed I can provide the entire syslog.

The Samsung drives were bought in 2010-2011, and i have used them with a storage-box from ONNTO Data-Tale with RAID 5.

I'm new to this and I don't know if it is the drives that doesn't work, or if the storage box made some settings or did something to the data on the drives.

Anyways i attached the results for one failed drive and one successful drive , so if someone can see what goes wrong or have any ideas etc. That would be really great :)!

- niv

preclear_results.txt

hi niv, ok firstly your using the right command to pre-clear those disks, some people do more than 1 cycle but that is a personal preference.

basically the pre-clear report is telling you that it expected to read all zeros in the post-clearing-read phase.  It did not, this could be due to a bad disk, or a bad disk controller port, or bad RAM in the server, or even a marginal power supply that allows noise on its supply lines to the disk to influence the returned values.

so my course of action would be as follows:-

- you need to upgrade the firmware on those samsung drives as they have a known issue with the older firmware causing data corruption, so you need to get them up to date if they aren't already, this is def priority #1

- check memory on the server using memtest (built into unraid, can be accessed on boot) let it run at least one full cycle

- switch the controller the samsung disks are connected to and re-run pre-clear - could be a faulty controller