[SOLVED] Can't execute files from unRaid server

rhino

Hi guys.

Apologies in advance for my noobness.

I've been 'running' my unRaid server for a couple of weeks now but I'm trying to work through some issues that are really kicking my arse.

I'm new to linux.

I'm new to unraid.

I'm new to networking.

The trifecta?!

One of the problems I'm having, is that I cannot run exe files from the server (and possibly related, self-extracting zip files).

I can download files to it successfully, but running them produces a Windows error:

\\SERVER\path\fileI'mtryingtorun.exe

The parameter is incorrect.

I would love it if you were able to assist.

As an aside, the other issue I'm having, is that when I reboot my PC, it stops seeing the server until I reboot the array.

I also seem to have to have Local Master Browser set to YES in unRaid or it breaks the shares as well...

I don't want to confuse the issue, but though it might be important to add in case they're related somehow.

I'm running Windows 8.1 and unRaid 5.0 on an HP Proliant Microserver

Cheers for reading, and please let me know if you need any more information.

syslog.zip

To jump to the chase, you will probably want to upgrade to the latest version of unRAID, v 5.0.4 as there has been an update to the SMB package. Of course, take the usual precautions when doing any updating of unRAID like backing up your current USB flash drive.

BTW, SMB is the protocol Windows uses for sharing; the generic implementation of this is known as SAMBA. And with Win 8.1 it's important to have the latest version, in my opinion.

Searching the web for "the parameter is incorrect" errors for Windows doesn't reveal any obvious and specific error. One that I like has to do with the path to the file is too long. If you have deeply nested files Windows chokes at a path greater than 256 characters.