Sharing UPS by installing NUT

Hi,

I've got my unraid server for media, and a Synology DS414 for my documents and backup of unraid.  The problem is I want them both on my APC Backup RS1000 UPS.  The Synology uses NUT as it's UPS software, and I have apcupsd on my unraid system.  They both work great, but won't talk to eachother.

So, is it possible to install NUT on unraid?  There are some posts about it from years ago, but no one seemed to actually get it running.

I googled :) and found this slackware version http://slackbuilds.org/repository/13.37/system/nut/

Would that work on unraid?  I'm still learning linux as I go so I'm not sure can get it set up right.  Anyone willing to help or make a plg for me?

I believe nut can work through a network, in fact I would be surprised if it didn't.

I know apcupsd would.  I do not know about that version of nut you link. The only way to know is to install it.

Then do ldd on the binary to see if all the libraries are available.

Right now I'm buried in a suite of tools to create checksums for all of my files for validation.

The last potential reiserfs corruption issue scared me and I need to be sure my data is valid or will notify me if something goes wrong.

So I haven't spent any time on nut or apcupsd or a UPS right now.

If I do go with something it will probably be nut since I found there is a version for ESX and I run ESX.

Thanks WeeboTech.  I just thought I would ask.  Maybe someone else has some time for this little project.  I'm happy to help, I just can't do it alone.