Jump to content

Lacehim

Members
  • Content Count

    258
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

About Lacehim

  • Rank
    Advanced Member

Converted

  • Gender
    Undisclosed

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thanks. I tried a Pre-clear with the plugin but unraid needed the unassigned and it all started to get a bit complicated with them being assigned to the array. In the end I pulled the usb, used parted magic erase disk which I use a lot, so I know how it works. https://partedmagic.com/secure-erase/ It's probably just a fancy ui fror hdparm UhClem because it erases at the hardware level so no load on the system at all, which is sweet. Takes about 240-338mins per drive and it can clear all 5 at the same time. I'll test a drive with a recovery program afterwards, and if all clear I'll sell it. Not worth that much with drives with 3 years running time, but better than cluttering up my cupboard. Thanks for the help everyone.
  2. Well I'm not talking about formatting the drive. You can still recover data after doing that. I'm talking about using Parted Magic which has an Erase program on it. It erases from the hard drive internally. Takes hours, but it's supposed to be secure. I use it to repurpose drives and wipe ssd's on regular desktops. Preclearing erases a few times doesn't? It's been a while since I used it. So that might be just as good and I can just set it off doing it's thing. So I'll just do that.
  3. Hi, I haven't been on here for a while Nice new forum! Just goes to show how reliable my Unraid system has been. Zero downtime! Yay. I've decided to move on my old HP N40L with 4x2Tb drives. I've replaced it with a HP G8 running 4x3Tb drives a few years ago, and I only used the N40L for backups. The drives are full of data. I would like to sell it with the drives intact, erased. Am I better to do a full pre-clear on all the drives, or just erase them at hard drive level in parted magic? I will be selling it as a bare system so the new owner can do what they want with it and keeping my unraid licence as a backup or if I decide to make a bigger array later on if I outgrow the G8. TIA
  4. Have a look under view in explorer and check or uncheck the hidden files should solve it.
  5. I just turned on log deleted files and all the shares appeared listed. Give that a try.
  6. I just checked mine and it was stopped, which is strange because it was turned off before and working. Started it again, and same issue as your getting. It has picked up one share only which is empty. I'm running 6.3.3 and 2017.03.26 plugin that was updated a few days ago.
  7. Figured it out. Permissions was set as root, so ran the permissions script and it's working like a charm now. Phew.
  8. Is there a reason why this isn't working on some shares? I have nothing in excluded shares, but for some reason nothing is recycled in "Backups" but in "Documents" it is. It's a bit strange.
  9. Thanks dlandon This plugin has saved me in the past. I just noticed it wasn't working on 6.3 and found your update! Thanks for your hard work in making it happen.
  10. Lacehim

    cache permissions issues

    Thank you! That was it. SAB was missing that permissions setting! I must have missed it when I set it all up manually for the docker! Thank you so much! Sanity can be restored now! haha!
  11. Lacehim

    cache permissions issues

    Does no one else have this issue? First cache drive, and this is driving me crazy. Maybe it's caused by the docker apps... might look into that.
  12. Lacehim

    cache permissions issues

    Hi, I built myself a new server ages ago on V6 and put a cache drive in for the first time (I was using a self mounted apps drive). I copied all my data over from my old server (now my backup) and installed docker and plugin apps. Works great. The only issue I have is a permissions issues. I've created a .apps folder and put all my docker apps data in separate folders, but I can't edit, or delete or anything on the cache drive. It says I need permission from nobody to delete a file for example (that using Win 7 in explorer to delete). If I run the permissions script on the cache drive it fixes it, but anything new downloaded has the new permissions from nobody error. It's it a little annoying. The array is fine, and I have no permissions issues with it at all. Is there a way to fix this permanently? Seems to be that there's a setting somewhere that's giving new files the wrong permissions on the cache drive only. Thank you.
  13. Big thank you to dlandon for this plugin! Both servers upgraded to 6.1.2 with a working recycle bin! Cheers! And Thank you, thank you, thank you!
  14. Installed fine as an update. The RecycleBin folder didn't show anything when I accessed via Explorer after deleting a files or 2. In the plugin settings it said it had 20kb which was a few test files I was deleting so they were there, just not visable. I had to manually change permissions for for that folder and they magically appeared. My Windows 10 laptop however can't access the RecycleBin folder at all. Looks like it trying to connect as a domain instead of the Workgroup its set to. All other shares are accessible, and I can access it perfectly fine with my Windows 7 machine. Grrr. My feeling is that this is a Windows 10 issue, good old MS. I noticed in the extra folder that it's setting permissions to 777, is this working? Great work though dlandon! Quick work too! Really appreciated!
  15. Here's the smb-extra.conf off my 6.0.1 running the hacked plugin [global] security = USER#vfs_recycle_start #Recycle bin share [RecycleBin] path = /mnt/user/.Recycle.Bin read only = No #vfs config # Documentation http://www.samba.org/samba/docs/man/manpages-3/smb.conf.5.html # Forum topic http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=5446.0 # %S Samba share name (which in unRaid equals the user share name), eg. Storage # %P User share full path, eg /mnt/user/Storage # %u Username of the current service, if any # To apply changes execute: /etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart # If the single custom bin solution is chosen, create the dir manually, and grant it g+rwx permissions [global] vfs objects = recycle recycle:repository = /mnt/user/.Recycle.Bin recycle:directory_mode = 0777 recycle:keeptree = Yes recycle:touch = Yes recycle:touch_mtime = Yes recycle:versions = Yes recycle:exclude = *.tmp recycle:exclude_dir = .Recycle.Bin acl allow execute always = yes #vfs_recycle_end And the new v6.1 plugin code #vfs_recycle_start #Recycle bin share [RecycleBin] path = /mnt/user/.Recycle.Bin read only = No #vfs config # Documentation http://www.samba.org/samba/docs/man/manpages-3/smb.conf.5.html # Forum topic http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=5446.0 # %S Samba share name (which in unRaid equals the user share name), eg. Storage # %P User share full path, eg /mnt/user/Storage # %u Username of the current service, if any # To apply changes execute: /etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart # If the single custom bin solution is chosen, create the dir manually, and grant it g+rwx permissions [global] vfs objects = recycle recycle:repository = /mnt/user/.Recycle.Bin/%P recycle:keeptree = Yes recycle:touch = Yes recycle:touch_mtime = Yes recycle:versions = Yes recycle:exclude = *.tmp recycle:exclude_dir = .Recycle.Bin acl allow execute always = yes #vfs_recycle_end