Parity Sync Issues

wishie

Hi guys,

Ive been using unRAID for quite a few years, and have suffered drive failures before and replaced them without issue. Recently though, my Parity drive reported as 0b in size and then stopped working all together. I removed the drive, put in the new replacement, and started a Parity-Sync... I came back a bit later to check on the progress and found the computer had basically locked up. There is no monitor or keyboard attached, but I couldn't access the Web UI anymore, or SSH in. I connected a monitor and keyboard to the machine, and tried again, this time running 'top' to watch things like CPU/RAM usage etc.. Once again, the machine locked up (around 48 minutes into the Parity-Sync).

Now, this machine has 2Gb of RAM, but 512Mb of that is assigned to the GPU and there is no way to change that in the UEFI/BIOS sadly. So, unRAID has 1.5Gb of RAM available. So, to try and rule out 'Out of memory' issues (because we all know Linux does some comical things when it runs out of memory) I created a 4Gb swap file on my cache drive.

So, I booted the machine, clicked "Start Array" to mount all the disks, ssh in a did 'swapon /mnt/cache/4Gb.swapfile' and run top to confirm its there. There is now swap, but unRAID is using NONE of it.. Sometimes I've seen it use 1mb or so, but barely any.. while the RAM is very very full.. I checked the 'swapiness' which is at a default of '60' like most other distros...

So, basically, I have 2 questions:

1) Why isn't the swap being used?

2) Do you think I'm on the right track with 'out of memory' issue for the Parity-Sync to fail?

Note, I have just spent almost 21hrs doing a 'preclear' of this drive, and it has 0 errors.

Should I perhaps boot the machine up again, run 'top' on one tty, and 'tail -f /var/log/syslog' on another tty?

The only plugin is "Dynamix webGui" which is a default one, isn't it?

I do have Docker and 2 containers, but I disabled that to save memory.