Interested in getting unRAID - Need clarification

In0cenT

Hello

I've been using Xpenology for almost two years now (Synology system on a custom built PC). The updating isnt as smooth as I would like it to be, thats the reason I'm looking for a new solution.

FreeNAS isnt possibility for me, as it just requires to much RAM and after just flying over the Limetech website it doesnt seem like unRAID needs any special hardware.

My current server:

i5 4xxx (cant remember what model excactly)

AsRock Z87 EXTREME6 AC

8GB RAM

7x 4TB WD RED

Running Plex and few other smaller applications

How well does unRAID perform with this kind of hardware and no HW RAID controller?

Is the virtualisation compareable with something like VMWare?

What is the reason why you guys are using unRAID and not an other product?

Is there a "test server" where I can have a propper look a the interface?

What is considered as a device? (Basic, Plus or Pro)

Thank you very much!

How well does unRAID perform with this kind of hardware and no HW RAID controller?

Should work fine.  No Hardware RAID is fine - in fact if you had one you would have to disable the RAID feature to use it with unRAID.

The virtualisation features are similar to VMWare.

I am sure you will get plenty of feedback on this.    You might also want to look in the Lounge area of the forum where there has been recent discussion about this.

The easiest way to try this is to download the release and write it to a USB stick and boot it up.  You can then get a (free) trial license if you want to try out its capabilities.

Basically any device capable of storing data (e.g. all the hard drives or SSD's).  USB drives also count I think (except for the unRAID USB used for booting the system.

Hello

I've been using Xpenology for almost two years now (Synology system on a custom built PC). The updating isnt as smooth as I would like it to be, thats the reason I'm looking for a new solution.