I need help with Unraid V6 concepts

Jessie

I was going to throw this question to Support, but I thought I'd drop it here first.  Can anyone help?

I have used unraid for a number of years. So comfortable with NAS side of unraid.  I am trying to come to terms with VM's and docker and Graphics card selection.  I have built up a new server close to the specs of the lime tech appliance. ie Supermicro board with 14 ports. 2 x Icydock 5 into 3 hotswap bays and a 4 into 1 icydock hotswap for the SSD's in an Antec 900 3 case. I cannot source the same Graphics cards. So have tried a ASUS Geforce Gt610 which I couldn't get to work. It currently has a ASUS Radeon R5 230, which I also can't get to work.  I am a system builder.  I intend to build Unraid systems for my clients with the primary purpose of storage. If I understand the concept properly, the machine might serve as a workstation using a virtual Windows 10, while serving movies to smart TV's in other locations in the premises. Can this be done.  I am not sure of the purpose of pass through. Is graphics pass through only applicable to devices directly plugged into the local video card or does it somehow provide acceleration to network connected devices?  I don't intend these machines to be gaming machines but would like them to be able to serve data to smart tv sets.  Therefore, I don't want to spend big dollars on Graphic cards if possible.  GTX cards in Australia start around the $200 mark.  My goal would be a device around the $100 or less.

Graphics card passthru is only required if you are going to directly connect a monitor/TV to a VM running on the unRAID server.  This is required if you want the unRAID server to act simultaneously as a NAS and a Desktop client, and gives near bare metal graphics performance on the directly connected video.  It is not required if you will be accessing the unRAID server over the network.  A graphics card does not provide a performance boost to network access.