SSD Array Drive Experiment

JonathanM

I'd like to propose an experiment to determine if SSD's as array members could be better optimized with the tools we have right now.

Physical Requirements.

1. Test unraid server (duh)

2. 1ea. Large(ish) SSD for parity

3. 2ea. Identical SSD's for data drives, must support automatic background cleanup

Methodology.

1. blkdiscard all 3 SSD's

2. set HPA to reserve 10% of one of the data SSD's

3. set up array as normal, XFS formatted

4. benchmark read and write to both data SSD's

5. copy large amounts of data identically to both data drives, delete and fill multiple times, to the point where performance suffers due to lack of trim.

6. benchmark again and compare

7. leave server running idle for hours

8. benchmark again and compare

Hypothesis: 10% HPA area may allow SSD to regain performance by "defragmenting" written areas.

Disclaimer: I have not used SSD's as array members, I have no first hand knowledge of performance loss due to lack of trim. For me, this is just a thought experiment.

I'm hoping @johnnie.black may be able to shed some light on this, with the great work he has already done with SSD arrays.

Thoughts?

11 minutes ago, jonathanm said:

I have not used SSD's as array members, I have no first hand knowledge of performance loss due to lack of trim. For me, this is just a thought experiment.

Some SSDs are better than others but in my experience write performance was terrible after a little time due to the lack of trim, so much so that I stopped using them as an active array, I'm now using ZFS with my biggest SSDs, but still have several 128GB and smaller that I can use to run some tests, I'll do that when I have the time.

• 2 weeks later...
On 18/08/2017 at 4:40 PM, jonathanm said:

2. set HPA to reserve 10% of one of the data SSD's