Mover Schedule

Lo Key

Just curious on what most people have their mover schedule set to.  I'm still pretty new to Unraid so I'm still checking out all of the settings.  Right now I have all of my shares set to Yes for "Use cache drive".  I set it to this originally because I was moving so much data over at first from my old storage I thought it might speed things up.  Now that I'm fully migrated, I still haven't changed this.   The only thing that is writing somewhat regularly to Unraid is downloads in nzbget.

I guess, to sum up, here are my questions:

1. Should I set any shares that aren't written to often to No for "Use cache drive" so they are protected immediately?

2. Are there any disadvantages to running Mover hourly instead of once per day?  I understand there will be more disk usage but I'm not really moving 10's of GB at a time onto the array anymore so I would think running more often shouldn't impact performance too much, would it?

Thanks.

Edited by Lo Key

Hello and welcome.

Using the cache drive to cache writes to the array isn't inherently better than writing directly to the array.  It's an option, you should just use it if it makes sense.  I think you have a good grasp of the issues - writes to the cache drive somewhat faster than to the array, but they aren't protected by parity until mover runs.  I'm not a fan of running mover more frequently, but again it's an option.

Personally I don't cache writes to the array at all.  If I were sitting in front of my PC constantly waiting for writes to my server, I might use the cache drive for write-caching.  But most of my writes are unattended or I start up a copy and walk away.  Further, when I want to copy a large amount of data I turn on Turbo Write (in my sig), which is almost as a fast as write-caching in many situations - but you're writing directly to the array.