We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Parity Check errors

Ndgame

Hello Everyone,

I have been using unraid for a few years now but I don't know the nitty gritty of how to resolve problems with it.

A few days ago I added 4 WD Red 3TB drives to my build.  Prior to this build I have 5 4TB Seagate drives and my parity is one of those drives.

I notice this morning after the parity check that the new drives have thousands and thousands of errors.   With the new drives I have excluded them from the shares that I had in place and created new shares that only used the new drives.

Can anyone help me resolve the problem or direct me to a place in unraid to see the problem to fix?   I have attached a screenshot to help you understand what I am talking about.

driveerrors.JPG

Disk7 looks to have problems, we'll need after reboot diags to confirm, then the Marvell controller went nuts and disabled all 4 disks.

The only strange thing is none of the disks being disabled, I would expect disk7 to be redballed, but no write attempt was made after the read errors, which doesn't make sense on a correcting parity check.

1 minute ago, Ndgame said:

What would you recommend to resolve the issue?

You need to reboot and grab and post new diags.

1 minute ago, Ndgame said:

For those 4 drives I used a external bay that connects all 4 drives to my server with a esata cable

This is a bad idea and a disaster waiting to happen, if you need external use SAS, no eSATA or USB.

49 minutes ago, johnnie.black said:

The only strange thing is none of the disks being disabled, I would expect disk7 to be redballed, but no write attempt was made after the read errors, which doesn't make sense on a correcting parity check.