Copying speeds

I am new to Unraid and just in the trial period. I have noticed that the disks did 220mbyte a second during preclear and building parity. I have no cache yet. 

When I copy files to the array through SMB it goes at about 60mbyte a second. When I download from my sftp which usually maxes out my 8mbyte a second internet, it goes at about 7.2mbyte a second to the SMB mapped drive. 

When I use the filezilla docker it only goes at 3mbyte a second. I am guessing this is because the driver of the docker does not work very well in bridge mode? This was kind of a disappointing speed, as I was hoping to download directly to the array. Now it seems the fastest way is still to download to my PC and then copy it across at 60 mbyte a second. 

I have looked in to this Turbo Write feature and thinking I should give that a try, at least during this stage when I want to write like 15TB to the array right from the start. Is that a good idea? Any comments on the other speeds? 

Sorry for some of the posts that I know have probably been asked a million times before. 

Edited by Simontv
38 minutes ago, Simontv said:

I have looked in to this Turbo Write feature and thinking I should give that a try, at least during this stage when I want to write like 15TB to the array right from the start. Is that a good idea?

Yes, it's a good idea when you have lots of data to write. Since each drive will only need one access per block you want to write you get way better performance than in the normal mode where the parity drive needs to perform a read/modify/write.

41 minutes ago, Simontv said:

When I download from my sftp which usually maxes out my 8mbyte a second internet, it goes at about 7.2mbyte a second to the SMB mapped drive.