Unraid strictly as VM manager

iLL-O

Hello everyone, I am new to Unraid and want to disclose right off the bat that I am a total newb.

Also I am yet another person who has come across Unraid from Linus' single PC multi-user videos.

One thing that I have wanted to do for some time but didn't think was possible till I came across those videos was to run two operating systems simultaneously and independently of each other, specifically Windows and macOS as well as simply two instances of Windows.

On my personal PC I would like to run Windows for myself and macOS for both my girlfriend and myself (she is a Mac user and I like to use Final Cut Pro). I have found videos detailing how to add macOS to Unraid.

My younger twin brothers have a gaming PC in which they share. One thing I would like to do for them is split their computer into 2 so they can both use it strictly for light usage (i.e. word documents; internet access etc) and potentially set it up in the future as 2 gaming rigs if feasible.

Through my searching in the past week I still have a bit of confusion, can I simply use Unraid to create multiple VM's (something like VMware or Virtualbox)? Most guides I have found seem to setup Unraid as a NAS first and then add VM's

Additional nonsense:

Is using Unraid for VM's as safe as running and installing an OS conventionally?

Is there a detailed guide to setting up Unraid for multiple VM's?

Is what I am trying to accomplish even worth the effort?

I am aware that a lot more can be done with Unraid and I would like to learn more and take advantage of all it potential!

Edited by iLL-O
2 hours ago, iLL-O said:

can I simply use Unraid to create multiple VM's (something like VMware or Virtualbox)? Most guides I have found seem to setup Unraid as a NAS first and then add VM's

No. Unraid's front end for KVM assumes you have at least 1 data disk in the array. The VM manager will not start unless the array is started.