USB Drive Died - Restoring from Diagnostics?

aleaxander

I've been running Unraid for a few months, with a single server running Plex, and with Mojave and Windows 10 VM's also installed. I've been very happy with it, but I made a big mistake about a week ago. My drives in the server would occasionally complain that they were running hot, so I pulled the box out to install a fan to cool them, but when I placed the server on my office chair, the arm of the chair caught and bent the USB drive sticking out of it :( The drive was destroyed, and no amount of soldering could fix the broken connectors that had snapped off of the drive.

It took a few days to find a USB stick that would boot Unraid (I bought and tried two, until I finally ordered one someone on the forums said always worked for them, and yay, that one did work), I updated my Registration Key, and now I would like to recover as much of my original setup as possible.

I don't have a USB drive backup external from the Unraid server, a mistake I will never make again, but I may have run a back up at some point recently and just never copied it off the Unraid server. I'd like to look, but I wanted to check on one thing first:

I do have a very recent Diagnostics file that appears to have a "smart" folder that tells me what my three disks were setup as (cache, parity, and disk1 - this is great because my parity and disk1 drives are the same make and model), which means that now that I have the Unraid Server up and running again with a valid license, I should be able to select those drives and start the array right? I want to see if I have that USB backup, but I'm worried that starting the array may somehow make it impossible to restore my sever from the backup if it is indeed there. Is that the case?