Need help with configuration for my first NAS

Nemanja

Hello ppl, 

I plan to build my first small home (media / backup) NAS, and I have no past experience with NAS. Actually, my first idea was to buy a commercial NAS device, but I realized that I have to spend a lot of money if I want to get a quality/fast device for the Plex server, and that for the same money I can build a much better machine for this need.

I read many topics about system requirements, experience etc. I was thinking about all the options unRAID, FreeNAS, Windows Server, WIndows 10, Ubuntu etc, but in the end I think that unRAID is the best option for my needs

This is what I need from NAS:

• Plex server for 1 user, in very rare situations 2 users
  • Plex will serve files mostly in 480p (75%), 720p (20%), and in rare cases 1080p (5%)
  • I will use Chromecast 2 and/or LG Plex app to play files from Plex server
  • Using the services such as Sonarr, Radarr, Torrent synchronized with Plex
  • Periodical manual backup of my work files (PSD, XD, AI, JPG, PNG) or sync using Resilio or similar service (I also have Google Drive 200GB for backup)
  • I want to have local and remote access to work files, but most often I will only access from the local network

The challenge is that I have a very small apartment and I do not have much space available for setting up this device, and I want to build this NAS in small case, and this is what I had in mind:

• CASE InWin Chopin 150W (MUST HAVE)
  • CPU Intel Pentium Gold G5400
  • MB GIGABYTE B360N wifi (m.2 support, I will not use wifi)
  • HyperX 16GB FURY DDR4 2666MHz (or I need 32GB?)
  • HDD 2x SEAGATE BarraCuda 2TB 2.5"
  • SSD m.2 120 or 240GB for caching

TOTAL ~500euro (price based on market in my country)

I'm open for any suggestion and recommendation, just please stay in budget friendly range :)