how to manage future motherboard upgrades

I'm very new to unRaid and still working through spaceinvader videos on youtube - which are excellent and a godsend to the likes of me!

I'm working on a very tight budget, trying to make use of 'bits left over' from past PC builds, while having a longer term plan of using somewhat better hardware scavenged from existing PC builds as they get upgraded.

Right now for my unRAID build I'm thinking of using a thin type 1150 ITX motherboard I was given a few years ago, but never used. This only has two SATA connectors, no PCIe slot, two USB 2.0 and two USB 3.0 ports, it has an i3 4160 Haswell cpu, 8GB of SO-DIMM RAM and I have a couple of 4TB USB 3 external hard drives for storage, whose cases I can remove in future. The motherboard has a 120GB mini PCIe SSD for a cache drive. The goal is just to have a fairly decent media server and NAS, nothing high powered required - in fact the opposite for something running 24/7. My wife's severely disabled and often has trouble sleeping with chronic pain, so I'd like her to have access to all her movies and music day and night via multiple devices, including phone, tablet and her PC (hackintosh).  So  I want to sketch out an upgrade path that lets me learn and play with the hardware I have right now, without too much duplication of effort in future and reasonable continuity for media server duties.

So let's say a few months from now my current personal computer has been replaced with something more modern  - at which point I'll have an ATX board, a quad core, eight thread CPU and lots more SATA ports, to use for 'server' duties.

What are the possible pitfalls of moving from the ITX to the ATX build?