[Solved] Unraid Unstable and Crashing Frequently. No Information in the Syslog

rjdipcord

Hello Unraid community,

I come in dire need of support with a problem i've been fighting with my Unraid server for over two months. This is a completely new installation but i'm running on used components. I'm working on a tight budget and am unable to afford brand new components. However many of the core things came out of my already working gaming PC.

My problem is that the server doesn't make it to 16 hours of uptime before crashing and being completely unusable. When it crashes, the webGUI is inaccessible, the physical console does not respond to keyboard input, and any SMB shares go dark. The system remains powered on, and will, after a considerable amount of time reboot and be back to normal - and begin running a parity check due to the unexpected shutdown. I have tried running a tail on the syslog from the console, but the console always times out before a crash occurs. So when I try to wake up the console after a crash, I cannot see the syslog since it won't respond to keyboard input.

To remedy this, I tried porting my syslogs to the installation media. It records the syslog correctly, but there is absolutely no valuable information that points to a reason for the crash.

My system has the following hardware:

Items with a "~" were not installed when these problems first occurred, and may have been installed to try and fix the problem.

And here is what I have tried so far with no luck:

• Removing individual PCI components
  • Changing RAM
  • Changing RAM slot
  • New Motherboard
  • Re-seat and analysis of CPU pins
  • PSU supply voltage check