IOMMU devices passed through and selected automatically?

Geck0

I'm new to VMs, having used unRaid for a couple of years now.

I've watched the 'beginner videos' by SpaceInvader on this subject, but I am puzzled by the results.

In the Bios I've enable XHCI for USB.

I've enable PCIe ACS override.

These are my IOMMU groupings for some of my USB controller / devices. 

image.thumb.png.ded3eb03d0b2996aa6d1b72e157b998e.png

You will notice that I' haven't select 1022:149c and my understanding is that I need to do this to bind it to VFIO. However, its still available to the VM, even if if I haven't selected it.

image.thumb.png.90a156fb551f345faff751cda9385899.png

I was having trouble starting the VM, because of the two lighting node cores having the same designations. I managed to get around this by selecting them using the BUS and Device ID, which I've posted about today.

However, I added them using XML. The tick boxes in the VM remain unticked. 

More importantly, if I ticked them in System's device manager to be bonded to the VFIO, they don't show up in device manager, nor do they show up in the VM as an option.

I have tried to find the answer to this, but its not obvious. I don't know if the reason they don't show up is because they're now hidden from unRaid, in which case how do I pass them to a particular VM?? If I leave them unselected in device manager then I would not expect them to be available to a VM.

So, I'm working with it, but its not clear to me how this works?

5 hours ago, Geck0 said:

I'm new to VMs, having used unRaid for a couple of years now.

I've watched the 'beginner videos' by SpaceInvader on this subject, but I am puzzled by the results.

In the Bios I've enable XHCI for USB.

I've enable PCIe ACS override.

These are my IOMMU groupings for some of my USB controller / devices. 

image.thumb.png.ded3eb03d0b2996aa6d1b72e157b998e.png