ProfQ's first Home Server

I've been tinkering with my build for three months now. Although my initial inspiration came from Smurf's unRAID build at AVForums, it wasn't until I came here and saw Raj's prototype designs that I convinced myself to take on this project-My first server build. So, I got rid of my little NAS box, removed a couple of 2tera drives from my HTPC, and got on with the parts list for my  new server. After 5 or 6 attempts to decide on a final shopping list, I bought most of the bits below. Now that my project has stabilized at 9 11 12 Data drives in the array, I think it's time for my little rig to find its way here, although I admit my wiring job leaves a lot to be desired.

These are my specs:

OS at time of building: 4.7 Pro on a Lexar Firefly 4GB USB

CPU: AMD Athlon II X260

Motherboard: ASUS M4A78LT-M LE

RAM: 4GB (2x2GB) Kingston Valu-Ram DDR3 1333

NIC: Intel Pro 1000 GT PCI NIC Card

Case: Fractal Designs Define XL Black

Edit 07 July, 2011:  

Drive Cage: 1 Norco SS-500 with 1 Coolink SWIF2-801 80mm fan

Power Supply: Seasonic S12-II 620W Bronze

SATA Expansion Card(s): 1 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8 Controller Card, New: 1 SIL3114 4-port Generic PCI card

Cables: Supermicro FW Breakout cables

Fans: 1 Prolimatech 140mm Hi-Flow Lo-Noise fan, 2 Fractal Lo-Noise 140mm, 1 180mm Fractal Lo-Noise

Others: NZXT Sentry 2 Fan Controller, APC Power-Saving Back-UPS ES 700VA, 3Com Office Connect 16 port Gigabit switch

Parity Drive: Hitachi 2TB 7K2000

Data Drives: 2 Hitachi 2TB 7K2000, 4 Seagate 2TB Green LP, 1 WD 2TB EADS, 5 Hitachi 2TB 5K3000 Green

Cache Drive: 1 Hitachi 2TB 5K3000

Total Drive Capacity: 18 drives

Add Ons Used: preclear, unMenu, cache_dirs, DS_store cleanup, ssmtp, clean powerdown, safe powerdown, etc.

Primary Use: Home Media Server

Likes:  Virtually silent, Solid and simple, Fast transfer speeds

Dislikes: Big and heavy case

Future Plans: Expand, tinker, add more drives.

Parts bin 1 (Sorry for the bad photo):

OcGbhl.jpg