How To Set Up A Cron Job In Unraid

Go to solution Solved by tjb_altf4,

I have found some older guides for setting up cron jobs in Unraid but none of them seem to work. One guide said put a file in the /etc/cron.d directory. One guide said put a file in /boot/config/plugins directory. Even adding it to the non-persistent crontab -e doesn't do anything. When I issue the update_cron command I see nothing happening in the syslogs. Any direction is appreciated. My file consist of the following:

53 20 * * * * ./mnt/cache/appdata/python/photosync_vid_docker.sh

All this does is kick off a python script via docker that moves some files. That script has been tested and works. 

Edited by jneely911
type
  • 7 months later...
On 10/11/2022 at 6:59 AM, jneely911 said:

Thanks tjb_altf4, I did see that as an option. I have some experience with Linux and was hoping just to use cron. I installed user scripts yesterday. I will check it out this afternoon. Thanks

this is kind of old but you can edit cron on /etc/cron.d/root use nano or vi and you can enter what you want but i second user scripts you set it and it enters the cron schedule directly into the file i just mentioned

53 minutes ago, Can0n said:

this is kind of old but you can edit cron on /etc/cron.d/root use nano or vi and you can enter what you want

Actually this will not work as expected as any such edit will not survive a reboot since that location is only in RAM and also Unraid may wipe out the edit at any time.   Using User Scripts plugin takes care of this persistence issue.

28 minutes ago, itimpi said:

Actually this will not work as expected as any such edit will not survive a reboot since that location is only in RAM and also Unraid may wipe out the edit at any time.   Using User Scripts plugin takes care of this persistence issue.

It does work

Any changes made to the operating system get written back to the USB immediately.