Norco 4224 questions

znelbok

Hi All

There is so much info here that I am hoping that it can be summarized in one thread - both to help a new user out and potentially others in the future.

I want to use a Norco RPC-4224 case and have read about different fan walls, different fans and other issues (V3 case vs V2,V1) but that information is scattered all over the place.

So can someone please summarize what are the pitfalls to using this case, what mods are recommended and what accessories are a must

Mick

I'm no expert on this case -  just got mine yesterday (latest rev) but here are a few things I discovered.

1. If you don't like the constant sound of a jet taking off then the fans in the rear HAVE to be replaced.  In Raj I trust so I went with the recommended ARCTIC COOLING ACF8 Pro

2. The fans in the middle have a quick release which will come in VERY handy when trying to plug in all the power connectors.  I of course learned this after the fact.

3. These would probably be much easier to plug into the drive back-planes instead of the much more bulky plugs/cables on the PSU (Corsair TX750v2 for me).  http://www.ipcdirect.net/servlet/Detail?no=113.

4. Not being able to complete the build because you forgot to order the Mini SAS cables when you have everything else sucks!

I'm not really sure what to do about the fans in the middle yet.  First, they are not that loud to me.  Second, I'm starting with 18 drives and plan on more very soon so I don't want to sacrifice any airflow/cooling.

pfp hit the nail on the head!  Great advice, all around.  I'll add a few more thoughts:

1) Norco claims that you should only have to power one of each of the backplanes two molex power ports.  Start by following this instruction.  However, if you have any random problems, then try providing power to the second set of molex power ports.  I've had success using just one, but some users have reported problems with using just one.