Newb ZFS Migration Sanity Check

Go to solution Solved by JorgeB,

TL;DR: I want to reconfigure my array to get the fastest speeds while maintaining data duplication (parity/mirroring).

I've been migrating away from Synology for close to 2 months now. I've mostly been waiting on 6.12.0 to come out with ZFS pool support. From my limited research (this will be my first ZFS filesystem), it seems like a RAIDz2 will do what I want with the safety net I want.

What I have:

• 2 * WD 14TB drives (currently set as Unraid Parity)
  • 2 * WD 10TB drives (currently set as Unraid data)
  • 2 * WD 10TB drives still in the Synology, they can be pulled from the Synology and put into Unraid quickly
  • 2 * Intel NVMe drives as cache pool (default configuration - BTRFS, only 1TB usable it seems so it must be mirrored?)
  • 1 * 1TB 2.5" SSD as Docker backup storage
  • 1 * 16GB flash drive for Unraid OS

What I'm getting today that doesn't really affect the array directly:

• 4 * 4TB NVMe and an x16 card to house them. When I installed the 2 * Intel NVMe drives, I recall the x8 card having more room on the slot and think I recall the bifurcation settings having to go to x4x4x4x4 so I'm hoping it'll work. If not, I return the card and 2 of the drives, and use the 2 remaining drives to get at least 4TB of cache.

What I'd ultimately like to do for cache:

• 8TB+ of cache. Parity would be nice
  • Increase the speed of my main array, most importantly write. If there's no benefit to write performance, I probably won't bother with the array side

Here's my thought (somewhat intentionally vague, see the questions below):
For the array

1. Put the 2 spare 10TB drives in
  2. Create a RAIDz2 pool
  3. Copy the data from my array to the RAIDz2 pool, which as I understand it should have a 2x speed increase, I'd just be bottlenecked by the read speed of the existing array
  4. Once the copy is done, remove the existing Unraid array
  5. Put the original 2 * 10TB into the RAIDz2 pool