New User Q, Any issue with nightly shutdowns of UNRAID Server?

Go to solution Solved by Hoopster,

Hi Everyone, 

I  currently use a QNAP NAS device to store music and backup files and folders so I turn my NAS on only when needed then shut it down till I need to use again.  I am just starting to learn about UNRAID and considering  migrating and wanted ask if this would still be acceptable for me to shutdown the  UNRAID server regularly/nightly or would this cause any issues?  Thank you. 

Vincent

7 minutes ago, soundfx222 said:

acceptable for me to shutdown the  UNRAID server regularly/nightly or would this cause any issues?

The only issue would be if you shut it down in the middle of a parity check or data transfer to Unraid array.  I used to shut my server down nightly, then I went to putting it to sleep and waking it when needed.  Now I just run it 24x7.

Firing up the server only when needed and shutting it down when not needed is certainly possible.

FYI - sleep support in Unraid is very much hardware dependent (motherboard/NICs) and it works well for many and not so well for others.

• Like 1

Hi, 

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have a follow up question as I am reading about The Mover service that updates the parity disks which is scheduled to run At 3:40 AM daily.   Will shutting down the server automatically trigger the mover to run before the 3:40AM scheduled task? Thank You.

From FAQ guide:

The Mover is a utility that runs periodically to move files off the cache disk and onto parity-protected data disk(s). If Mover logging is enabled, the mover will record all its activity to the system log.

By default the mover is scheduled to run every day at 3:40AM. This may be changed by defining your own Mover schedule string in crontab format.

• Solution
44 minutes ago, soundfx222 said:

Will shutting down the server automatically trigger the mover to run before the 3:40AM scheduled task?