Unclean Shutdown after changing config files of docker containers or deploying docker containers

Hello all,

described problem occcurs mostly when changing something in the config files of a docker container (e.g. Frigate) or deploying a docker container, but also noticed an unclean shutdown after starting the array. It also is not occuring all the time, but sporadically on version 6.12.8 aswell as on version 6.12.9. Hopefully some expert can help me, as I am relatively new to Unraid and only know some basics.

Thanks.

nas-stockstadt-diagnostics-20240327-0926.zip

Unclean shutdown means that Unraid thinks the array was not stopped before the server was shut down or rebooted.

Unclean shutdowns happen when Unraid can't write the array started/stopped status to flash. This can be because shutdown happens before the array has been stopped, or because flash can't be written.

Unclean shutdown always happens due to how things are shutdown and are detected on boot up. The consequence is a parity check when the array is first started after booting.

Changing things will not cause this, unless you change the timeouts related to shutdown, or unless it causes your flash drive to become read-only.

Here is the sticky at the top of this same subforum which discusses the timeouts.

Unrelated, your domains and system shares have files on the array.

Ideally, appdata, domains, and system shares would have all files on a fast pool with nothing on the array, so Dockers/VMs will perform better, and so array disks can spin down since these files are always open.

Looks like you had your docker.img set to 50G before you switched it to a docker folder. Were you having problems filling it? The usual cause of filling docker.img is an application writing to a path that isn't mapped. Docker images shouldn't be growing.

Just now, trurl said:

domains and system shares have files on the array