Noob Setup Questions

Posted (edited)

Howdy all. I am working to get my first NAS set up. I have a machine working, but I am new to all of the software end of setting up your own server. All of it. 

I built a PC with the following specs:

• Asus H97M-E motherboard
  • 256GB M.2 drive
  • Intel i5-4690K
  • 8GB RAM
  • 2x 16TB HDDs

I intend to use the PC as a headless NAS, mainly to run a family Plex server, and then have some personal cloud storage, as well as a backup PC in case the family one I just built takes a dump at some point. I already installed Ubuntu on it, but am now wondering if I shouldn't have done that. Should I wipe that from the drive and start with just Unraid? Then put in another OS on a VM? Should I just leave Ubuntu on there and boot from the Unraid USB? I should mention I only have experience with Windows, and all these other OS'es are completely new territory to me. What all do I need to know? To do? To avoid?

Talk to me like I'm an idiot, because I am. The more reading I do on these things, the more terms I see that I have no context for. 

Edited by FoeHammer
Forgot needed information
Posted (edited)

Well I'm Board… so why not! :) 

On 5/2/2024 at 7:04 PM, FoeHammer said:

Howdy all. I am working to get my first NAS set up. I have a machine working, but I am new to all of the software end of setting up your own server. All of it. 

I built a PC with the following specs:

• Asus H97M-E motherboard
  • 256GB M.2 drive
  • Intel i5-4690K
  • 8GB RAM
  • 2x 16TB HDDs