Unmenu can't connect to the internet

silvine

I installed Unraid and Unmenu using the helpful configuration guide. I can access Unraid via my brower without issue. I can also access Unmenu but when I click on any of the menu links it takes me to "the DNS lookup failed" page. I understand Unmenu needs an internet connection to work.

I am currently accessing Unraid on http://192.168.1.253/ on my mac. I opened terminal and typed "telnet 192.168.1.253". I then entered my password and I typed "ping 8.8.8.8". Terminal reports it is receiving 64 bits. I take it this suggests the problem is not my internet connection??

I have set the gateway and DNS server to the same address I use to access my router. This is 192.168.1.1. I tried changing my Ip address to DHCP.

What can I do to fix this?

I am really new at UnRaid but I like what I see. Please help.

it does sound like your have conectivity and the problem is dns.

I would go back to your telnet. if you can ping 8.8.8.8 (google's dns), I would try to ping "google.com" and see what happens. you should get a reply back.

I assume your set your DNS servers in your router. try possibly setting your DNS to 8.8.8.8?

thats how i have my setup. my router as primary (that has comcasts dns servers) and google as my secondary.

if you know the dns of the package you're trying to download, try to ping it from your mac. maybe the pack is offline. i have seen that in the past.

• 2 months later...

I am having problems with unmenu as well. ive had it installed just fine and was working for a long time...maybe a year or close to without any issues now today out of no where i cant get the unmenu gui to connect. my unraid gui connects just fine i pulled up telnet and when i ran

net lookup google.com
it said 74.125.224.169 then i ran
ping -c google.com
and it said ping: bad number of packets to transmit..

any ideas? thanks