Usenet newsgroups

teamhood

I was just wondering if anyone who uses the newsgroups could suggest a provider? I would like unlimited d/l.  Also, what program are you using to search for 'news'

I have never used newsgroups before so if anyone has any advice, I would love to hear it!

Thank you,

Mike

Mike,

Are you interested in downloading or just reading? The services are geared either way. For the latter retention is usually ok to go with one of the public NNTP servers.

-ae

Forte' not as good as some others with binaries IMO. That said, the ones that ARE supposed to be good at binaries always puked on me when their indexes got too big. I eventually got frustrated and stopped playing with newsgroups because of that. If you're after binaries then retention is a biggie as is handling of PAR files, throttling, and multiple sources with the ability to prioritize (IMO). Lots of things to consider and yeah it can become a time sink pretty quickly!

I don't want to 'read' I would like to download ummm... well I would like to download. There are just a lot of different places out there and I was hoping to hear some reviews before I decided to put down the cash... Anyword on giganews?

Side note: I guess I get confused when you want to download lets say, an HD video... the way the news groups work is by separating that hd video into a ton of smaller files correct? How many of the files get downloaded at a time? How long does it take... will the newgroups max out your connection?

Thanks again!!

well, here is what i have:

Europe, the netherlands

for the provider (eweka.nl) part: 7,50 euro per month for unlimited download with 30 day retention.

next comes your newsreader software, this is what make all sort of options avaliable.

i myself use newsleecher (payed 30 dollars per year, but i share it with a friend) with supersearch.

most newsreader programs have an option for setting the max download speed.

how many get dl at a time?: depends on the program your using.