Advice on conversion from unRAID server to ESXi with unRAID vm

Tybio

You can see my hardware in my sig.

I've run into some limitations running so many plugins on unraid and having VMs on my desktop for work..I have stuff scattered all over the place and it's getting quite out of hand.  With the hardware I have, there is really no reason to limit the server to just unRAID use.

I'm a fairly advanced tech person, and I think I have a good idea how to do this...mostly following these steps:

1> Move all the unRAID drives to the MV8's and off the motherboard.

2> Add a drive to host the ESXi virtuals

Where I'm not sure of the process is how to /convert/ from booting unRAID to booting ESXi with the least risk of data loss.  Anyone got any pointers?

Hi Tybio

I might refer you to this thread here in this forum:  http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=14695.0  It will explain everything.

Norco RPC-4224

>> Nice Case

SUPERMICRO MBD-X9SCM-F-O // Xeon-1275V2 //8GB ECC DDR3

>> This motherboard is excellent and the basis of my build (still in the purchase stage for me).  Others have built ESXi servers on this board including the OP in the above thread.  I would raise your memory from 8GB to 16G or 32G (max for this board as well as the trial license for ESXi).  The more memory the more flexibility you will have.  You will have to turn on  Vx-D to pass the hardware through to the VM.  The above thread will take you through the whole process.  You will also need a couple of drives for ESXi data store.  I say a couple because you will probably want to mirror them.  1TB or even 500GB will be fine.  If you find 2TB on special, you could use a couple of them.

I would like to caution you that you SHOULD NOT install ESXi with your unRaid drives plugged in.  The drives will be ERASED during the ESXi install.

2x AOC-SASLP-MV8, Corsair TX850M,  W/ APC 1300VA

>> Looks good here.

Drives: 1x4TB, 7x2TB, 2x3TB, 1x.5TB Cache Drive