Is it safe to turn my machine off? [SOLVED]

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to unRAID, so I apologize for the potentially noob-type issue.  I searched the forum, but I didn't see anything related to my problem; if I missed something, I apologize.  Here's the sitch:

I followed the user guide to set everything up and it was working very well; I precleared my drives and was getting ready to start moving files into the array.  For the initial set-up, I had to put a video card in to connect to a monitor (the MB only has S-video out and I have no adapters).  Since everything was running well, I shut down the array and the machine through the web interface, removed the video card and powered it back on, but now I can't connect to it. 

I looked the IP address up through the router and tried pinging it, but "the destination host is unreachable."  I tried a telnet session, too, just in case that would do anything to no avail. 

I can definitely put the video card back in to troubleshoot further, but I don't know if it's safe to power it down manually, as I don't want to damage the drives that are in there.

Any thoughts are most appreciated - thanks! 

MB only has S-video out? That sounds like it isn't a video-connection at all, but a PS/2 keyboard-connection.

So, it sounds like an older motherboard that doesn't work without a video-card, which means you should definatly try to run it with one.

Because you didn't supply any specifications of your computer, it is difficult to say, but seeing as how it probably hasn't even booted, it would be safe to turn off as it is.

Thanks for replying!  Ha - you're right about the keyboard connection; guess I should've checked the specs.  This is the MB:

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P5N32E_SLI/#specifications

It's older hardware that was given to me and it included a GeForce 8800 gts, which seemed like way too much for this.  I didn't want to have to buy another video card with lower specs, yada yada yada.