How/what would install for a new 5.0rc12 server coming from 4.7?

OK, I'm retiring my 4.7 pro unRAID server, and moving to an HP Microserver that I want to install unRAID 5.0 rc 12 pro. I've got how to do the USB key. It will be populated with new drives so I'm not "migrating" the drives with data on them. What I want to know from members here, is how would you do a new install- what I mean is I've just run unRAID 4.7, no unmenu, nothing but the unRAID OS for years. I've decided I don't want sickbeard or szb, (I prefer to add media manually) but it seems unMENU is a must.

What else?

How would you build your dream unRAID system? (not hardware part, the unRAID and addons part)

Thank you for your suggestions, I'm a long time unRAID user but I just basically went with the OS and just updated it through to 4.7, so in reality I'm a noob with current unRAID because I haven't played with it.

I tend to agree with your philosophy about not adding a lot of plugins => if you peruse these forums, you'll see that the VAST majority of issues are NOT with UnRAID's basic functionality, but with the add-ons and plug-ins.

As a pure storage server, it's VERY reliable ... so that's basically how I've got mine set up.  I use UnMenu with the Clean PowerDown and APC UPS packages, and nothing else.    I DO consider a UPS essentially a mandatory accessory for a storage server [This is a good one for the small server you're going to use:  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16842101381 ]

As for configuration -- add UnMenu (very simple);  then from the UnMenu Package Manager add the apcupsd-3.14.3 package (NOT the newer one); and the powerdown-1.02 package.    That's all you really need ... but feel free to look through the rest of the utilities.

UnMenu automatically installs hdparm, which allows it to run SMART tests, etc. -- something you'll likely want to do periodically (I check my SMART parameters perhaps once/quarter).