Unmenu installation help

Can anyone help me with the installation of unmenu or point me to a forum post or wiki on the installation – I have looked and cannot find what I am looking for.  I am new to unraid and linux an am wrestling with getting up to speed.  I am starting with the free version of unraid and at this time I do not have any drives in the computer (just an old ntfs drive – which I may want to mount using unmenu to copy some files) I tried following the directions on pg 9 of the unmenu thread and here is what I did:

I installed unraid using info in the wiki – everything works and I can see //tower from my web browser.

I then shut down unraid pulled the thumb drive and installed it in my windows machine.  I then created a boot folder on the root directory of the thumb drive with an unmenu subfolder.  All three zip files were extracted to /boot/unmenu.  When I navigate to this folder in windows all files are “greyed out” and the windows attributes indicate that they are hidden files – is this normal?

I then booted unraid and typed cd /boot/unmenu and it said directory not found – so I did cd /boot and I was in a directory so I did mkdir unmenu.  I then shut down installed the flash drive in the windows machine and extracted the files to this folder (in windows the unmenu folder was in the root directory of the flash drive – is this correct – the files were still hidden?).  I rebooted unraid and typed cd /boot/unmenu and it went to that folder I then typed ls and all the files that I extracted were listed.  I then typed uu and nothing happened a standard root prompt returned immediately.  I rebooted unraid and nothing had changed – ie no unmenu.

Can anyone help me or point me in the right direction?  Do I need to set folder permissions for the unmenu directory?

Thanks in advance!

Dan