We're Hiring! Full Stack Developer ×

Trying to make Windows 8 OS Install ISO

Bugman1400

I am new to VM but, managed to enable the VM feature in VM Manager. I think I set up the Windows-based VM in UnRAID correctly so far and put the drivers in my Share. I have a Windows 8 Installation CD that I installed on a local harddrive (not UnRAID server) 4 or 5 months ago and activated and registered it. I have not installed any additional applications in Windows 8. Now I would like to install the Windows 8 on the UnRAID VM instead. Do I need to make an ISO of the Windows 8 Installation CD? If so, whats the best way to do that?

You can install from either the DVD or an ISO image of it.

HOWEVER ... since you've already installed and activated the system with your disk, you can't use the same key for another installation.    You'll need another Windows license to do the install with.

Seems like I had a case in the past where my harddrive failed and I was able to re-install the OS on the new harddrive and then re-activate it. How do I install the OS on my UnRAID server from my local DVD drive? If it fails registration then, I guess I will buy another license.

You can install from either the DVD or an ISO image of it.

HOWEVER ... since you've already installed and activated the system with your disk, you can't use the same key for another installation.    You'll need another Windows license to do the install with.

Seems like I had a case in the past where my harddrive failed and I was able to re-install the OS on the new harddrive and then re-activate it. How do I install the OS on my UnRAID server from my local DVD drive? If it fails registration then, I guess I will buy another license.